Carl Satterfield Award

Each year CAHAM recognizes one individual with the Carl Satterfield Award. This prestigious award is bestowed upon one member at the Annual Educational Conference. The award is named in honor of the co-founder of CAHAM, Carl Satterfield, who helped pave the road for the careers and opportunities we all enjoy today. Nominees for this award will demonstrate qualities and characteristics listed below:
  • Mentorship of potential leaders to promote leadership and growth within the Patient Access field
  • Mentorship of department personnel to develop critical thinking skills that will result in an admission process that is focused on accuracy, efficiency and patient-centered care
  • Professionalism in his/her interaction with patients, visitors, staff, peers, colleagues, and members of leadership
  • Special and collaborative service, generously contributing time and talent to the promotion of the Patient Access field
  • Innovative and strategic thinking in resolving problems and establishing new and/or improved programs
  • Commitment to industry and community benefit organizations and initiatives
  • Outstanding career accomplishments; serves as a role model
Carl Satterfield Award Nomination Letter

Click link below to complete and print the nomination form

Carl Satterfield Award Nomination Form

In the spirit of Carl's dedication and enthusiasm for his profession, CAHAM would like to recognize the past recipients of this award and to encourage you to submit a nomination for a peer or colleague that is deserving of such an honor.


Mimsy Abara-Maulino - Kaiser Permanente, Northern California ~ 2014
Sabrina Patton - Dignity Health ~ 2013
Kelly Joseph - Kaiser Permanente, Northern California ~ 2010
Terry Closson - City of Hope, Duarte, CA ~ 2009
Robert Palinksy - NCO EPals-Rancho Cordova, CA ~ 2008
Randy Karg - John Lincoln Health Network-Phoenix, AZ ~ 2007
Lena Watts - Kaiser Permanente, Northern California ~ 2006
Vicki Sanseverino - St. Elizabeth's Community Hospital ~ 2005
Georgia Brewer - CHW Sacramento Region
Lynn Otani - Tenet Health Systems
Debbie Nelson - Kaweah Delta
Jayne Flores - Centinela Medical Center
Anna Galvez - Century City Hospital
Edward Din - San Jose Regional Medical
Wendi Elder - Redding Medical Center, Redding
Sue Sutherland - Washoe Medical Systems, Reno
Carla Evans - Fremont Rideout
Jo Barrett - Saint Joseph's of Orange Hospital
Kristin Watson - Torrance Memorial Medical Center
Dianne Wells - Hoag Memorial Hospital, Newport Beach
Katherine Cross - St. John's Hospital & Health Center, Santa Monica
Shirley Cordero - Northridge Hospital
Barbara Patterson - University of California (Davis), Sacramento
Howard Barnes - Children's Hospital, Los Angeles
Irv Barnett - Saint Joseph Hospital, Stockton
June West - Daniel Freeman Hospital, Los Angeles
Lorine Conrad - Sutter General Hospital, Sacramento