Carl Satterfield Award

Each year CAHAM recognizes one individual with the Carl Satterfield Award. This prestigious award is bestowed upon one member at the Annual Educational Conference. The award is named in honor of the co-founder of CAHAM, Carl Satterfield, who helped pave the road for the careers and opportunities we all enjoy today. Nominees for this award will demonstrate qualities and characteristics listed below:
  • Mentorship of potential leaders to promote leadership and growth within the Patient Access field
  • Mentorship of department personnel to develop critical thinking skills that will result in an admission process that is focused on accuracy, efficiency and patient-centered care
  • Professionalism in his/her interaction with patients, visitors, staff, peers, colleagues, and members of leadership
  • Special and collaborative service, generously contributing time and talent to the promotion of the Patient Access field
  • Innovative and strategic thinking in resolving problems and establishing new and/or improved programs
  • Commitment to industry and community benefit organizations and initiatives
  • Outstanding career accomplishments; serves as a role model
Carl Satterfield Award Nomination Letter

Click link below to complete and print the nomination form

Carl Satterfield Award Nomination Form

In the spirit of Carl's dedication and enthusiasm for his profession, CAHAM would like to recognize the past recipients of this award and to encourage you to submit a nomination for a peer or colleague that is deserving of such an honor.

Past Recipients of the Carl Satterfield Award

Mandy VillalbaPIH Health
2022AC JamesOtani Consulting Group
 2021 Rewa Cooper    PIH Health
2019Shelle Murph-MitchellCompSpec
2018Andrea Del RioCantu Management Group
 2017 Lori Bryant   Citrus Valley Health Partners
2016Helen Contreraz          UCLA Health Systems
2015Kim Rice   Shasta Regional Medical Center
2014Mimsy Abara-Maulino    Kaiser Permanente, Northern California
2013Sabrina PattonDignity Health
2010Kelly JosephKaiser Permanente, Northern California
2009Terry ClossonCity of Hope
2008Robert Palinsky    NCO EPals
2007Randy KargJohn Lincoln Health Network, Phoenix, AZ
2006Lena Watts    Kaiser Permanente, Northern California
2005 Vicki SanseverinoSt. Elizabeth Community Hospital
 Georgia Brewer    CHW Sacramento Region
 Lynn Otani    Tenet Health System
 Debbie NelsonKaweah Delta
 Jayne Flores    Centinela Medical Center
 Anna GalvezCentury City Hospital
 Edward Din  San Jose Regional Medical
 Wendi ElderRedding Medical Center
 Sue SutherlandWashoe Medical Systems, Reno, NV
 Carla EvansFremont Rideout
 Jo BarrettSt. Joseph's of Orange Hospital
 Kristin WatsonTorrance Memorial Medical Center
 Dianne WellsHoag Memorial Hospital 
 Katherine Cross   St. John's Hospital & Health Center
 Shirley Cordero    Northridge Hospital
 Barbara PattersonUniversity of California, Davis
 Howard Barnes    Children's Hospital, Los Angeles
 Irv Barnett    Saint Joseph Hospital
 June WestDaniel Freeman Hospital
 Lorine ConradSutter General Hospital